St. George's Hall, Langham-pl., W. In this commodious hall were given the entertainments known as Mr. and Mrs. German Reed's. and subsequently those under the management of Messrs. Alfred Reed and Corney Grain. It is now occupied by Messrs. Maskelyne and Devant, the Master Magicians, whose unique and entertaining performances take place twice daily at 3 p.m. and 8p.m. The prices of admission are 1s and 2s.; stalls 3s and 5s. NEAREST Ry. Stn., Portland-rd; Omnibus Rtes. Mortimer-st. and Oxford-st.; Cab Rank, opposite.
Charles Dickens Jr. et al, Dickens Dictionary of London,
(no date; based on internal evidence)
Opened in 1867 in Langham Place as a concert hall for the New Philharmonic Society, and used by amateurs as a theatre in the same year, called the St. George's Theatre. The name became St. George's Opera House at end of 1867 but back to original name in March 1868. It became the Matinee Theatre in 1897, but back to St. George's Theatre in 1898. [see Lost Theatres of London by Raymond Mander and Joe Mitchenson for more information]