Victorian London - Directories - Dickens's Dictionary of London, by Charles Dickens, Jr., 1879 - "Workhouses within the Metropolitan Police District"

[ ... back to main menu for this book]

Workhouses within the Metropolitan Police District.
Barnet: Barnet (S div.)
Bermondsey: Russell-st, Bermondsey (M div.)
Bethnal Green: Waterloo-rd Bethnal Green (K div.)
Brentford: Isleworth (T div.)
Bromley: Farnboro’ (P div.)
Camberwell: Havill-st, Camberwell (P div.)
City of London: Bow-rd. Mile End (K div.)
City of London: Upper Homerton (N div.)
Clerkenwell: Farringdon-rd, Clerkenwell (G div.)
Croydon: Croydon (W div.)
Edmonton: Edmonton (Y div.)
Epsom: Epsom (V div.)
Fulham: Fulham-rd, Hammersmith (T div.)
Greenwich: Greenwich (R div)
Hackney: Lower Homerton (N div.)
Hampstead : Hampstead (S div.)
Hendon: Edgware (S div.)
Hillingdon: Hillingdon (X div.)
Holborn: Gray’s-inn-rd (G Div)
Kingston: Kingston (V div.)
Lambeth: Renfrew-rd, Lambeth (L div.)
Lewisham: Lewisham (P div.)
Mile-end Old Town: Bancroft-rd, Mile-end-rd (K div.)
Paddington: Harrow-rd (X div.)
Poplar: High-st, Poplar (K div.)
Richmond: Richmond (V div.)
Rotherhithe: Lower-rd (R div.)
St. George, Hanover-sq: Fulham-rd, Chelsea (T div.)
St. George-in-the-East: Charles-st, Old Gravel-lane (K div.)
St. George: Mount-st, Berkeley-square (C div.)
St. George-the-Martyr: Mint-st, Southwark (M div.)
St. Giles-in-the-Fields and St. George, Bloomsbury: Broad-st, Bloomsbury (E div.)
St. James, Westminster: Poland-st, Oxford-st (C div.)
St. Leonard, Shoreditch: Kingsland-rd (N div.)
St. Luke, Chelsea: Arthur-st, Chelsea (T div.)
St. Luke: Shepherdess -walk, City-rd (N div.)
St. Margaret and St. John, Westminster: Kensington (T div.)
St. Marylebone: Northumberland-st, Marylebone (D div.)
St. Mary, Islington: St. John’s-rd, Holloway (V div.)
St. Mary, Newington: Westmoreland-rd, Walworth (P div.)
St. Olave’s: Parish-st, Tooley-sat (M div.)
St. Pancras: King’s-rd, St. Pancras (V div.)
St. Saviour’s: Marlborough-st Southwark (L div.)
Staines: Staines-rd, Stanwell (T div.)
Stepney: Bromley or Poplar (K div.)
Wandsworth and Clapham: East-hill, Wandsworth-rd (V div.)
West Ham : Leyton (N div.)
West London: Cornwallis-rd, Upper Holloway (Y div.)
West Strand: Silver-st, Edmonton (Y div.)
Whitechapel: Charles-st, Mile End (K div.)
For the infirm of Whitechapel South-grove, Mile-end Old Town (K div)
Woolwich: Plumstead Village (R div.)

Charles Dickens (Jr.), Dickens's Dictionary of London, 1879