Victorian London - Organisations and Public Bodies - City of London - Dowgate Ward

DOWGATE or, DOWNEGATE. One of the 26 wards of London, deriving its name from a dock or water-gate, called Downegate, "so called," says Stow, "of that down-going or descending thereunto." Boundaries - N., a line parallel with Cannon-street, but nearer the Thames; S., the Thames; E., Old Swan-stairs and Swan-lane; W., Dowgate-dock and Dowgate-hill. Stow enumerates two churches and five Halls of Companies in this ward:- Allhallows the More or the Great; Allhallows the Less, (destroyed in the Great Fire and not rebuilt); Tallow-Chandlers' Hall; Skinners' Hall; Innholders' Hall; Joyners' Hall; Dyers' Hall. The Steelyard is in this ward.

Peter Cunningham, Hand-Book of London, 1850