Victorian London - Organisations and Public Bodies - City of London - Ward of Farringdon Without

FARRINGDON WITHOUT. One of the 26 wards of London, and by far the largest - so called from being without the walls. For the origin of the name see Farringdon Within. General Boundaries. - N., Holborn and Smithfield; S., the Thames, between Blackfriars Bridge and the Temple-stairs; E., New Bridge-street and the Old Bailey; W., Temple Bar and Chancery-lane. Churches in this Ward. - St. Bartholomew the Great, West Smithfield; St. Bartholomew the Less, West Smithfield; St. Sepulchre's; St. Andrew's, Holborn; St. Dunstan's in the West; St. Bride's [See all these names]. John Wilkes was elected alderman of this ward, Jan 2nd, 1769, "while yet," says Walpole, "a criminal of state and a prisoner." At the east end of Fleet-street is an obelisk to his memory. The founders of the three rich banking-houses in Fleet-street, Messrs. Child, Messrs. Hoare, and Messrs. Gosling, filled at various periods the office of alderman of this ward.

Peter Cunningham, Hand-Book of London, 1850