RICHMOND LOCK AND FOOTBRIDGE.
Richmond Lock, opened by H.R.H. the Duke of York, in May, 1894, is the first and largest on the river Thames, and can contain six barges and a tug at one time. Across the river, which is wide at this spot, stretch three steel sluices, each weighing 32 tons and measuring 66 feet in width and 12 feet in depth; and as these, when raised, remain in a horizontal position, neither the view of this picturesque neighbourhood nor the headway is obstructed. In the picture here presented the sluices are down. The lock proper is on the Surrey side of the stream ; on the Middlesex side is a slipway. The effect of the arrangement as a whole is permanently to secure a fine sheet of water above Richmond Bridge. The five arches of the footbridge are of steel, while the piers are of concrete.
source: The Queen's London : a Pictorial and Descriptive Record of the Streets, Buildings, Parks and Scenery of the Great Metropolis, 1896