East Molesey is on the right bank of the Thames, opposite Hampton Court Palace, the river being spanned by an ugly iron bridge. Molesev Lock, of which the gates may be distinguished in our picture in the distance, is 23½ miles from London by water, and 88 miles from Oxford; and only Teddington and Richmond locks have been built below it. It is a very favourite resort on Saturday and Sunday afternoons, when the boating parties passing through are a never-failing source of amusement to those on shore. The Weir, below the well-known Tagg's Island, is a delightful one in a picturesque sense, but the Thames Conservancy notice of Danger is a very necessary warning against its perils. A little higher on the right bank-to the north-west of Molesey village - is the Hurst Park Racecourse.
source: The Queen's London : a Pictorial and Descriptive Record of the Streets, Buildings, Parks and Scenery of the Great Metropolis, 1896