CHINGFORD OLD CHURCH.
Only the chancel of the picturesque old church at Chingford, dedicated to All Saints, is now used for divine service, and even that small part of it only in the summer time. It belongs to the late Early English and Decorated periods, some of the windows, however, being Perpendicular. The old red brick of which the church is built is half hidden by fast-clinging ivy, which grows inside the ruined nave as well as on the exterior wall. The meadow between this fine old church and the River Lea, which flows hard by, is still known as "The Kings Mead.'' The very name of Chingford recalls the old days when the Rural hunting parties pursued their quarry in the forests of Epping and Hainault, crossing the Lea by the Kings Ford.
source: The Queen's London : a Pictorial and Descriptive Record of the Streets, Buildings, Parks and Scenery of the Great Metropolis, 1896