Victorian London - Directories - Dickens's Dictionary of London, by Charles Dickens, Jr., 1879 - "Petty Sessional Divisions"

[ ... back to main menu for this book]

Petty Sessional Divisions in the Metropolitan Police District.óin those portions of the Sessional Divisions which are within the limits of any metropolitan police-court, the criminal business is taken to the police-court but Petty Sessions are held for all parochial or other civil business.
BEACONTREE, Essex (K and N divs.), Petty Sessions Room, adjoining House of Correction, in the parish of Little Ilford, Essex, Saturdays, at 11 am.
BLACKHEATH DIVISION, Kent (R div.), Green Man Hotel, Blackheath, at appointed times throughout the year. For civil business only.
BOROUGH OF KINGSTON, Surrey (V div.), the Petty Sessions for the borough are held every
Wednesday at 10 am, in the Town Hall.
BRENTFORD DIVISION, Middlesex (T and X divs.), Town Hall, New Brentford, Mondays and Saturdays, at 11 am.
BROMLEY DIVISION, Kent (P and R divs.), 1st and other Mondays in the month at Bromley, where the principal sittings are held; 3rd Monday at Chislehurst. The whole of the Petty Sessional Division is within the metropolitan police district, excepting the parishes of Chelsfield, Cudham, and Knockholt.
CHESHUNT DIVISION, Herts (Y div.), Session Rooms, St. Maryís Hall, Cheshunt, Wednesdays, at  11 am.
CHIPPING BARNET DIVISION Herts (S and Y divs.), Town Hall, Union-st, Barnet, Mondays, at 11 a.m. Police cases are occasionally taken from parts of Finchley and Friern Barnet, in the Highgate Division (County of Middlesex), and Shenley and Tottenidge (County of Herts), to the Chipping Barnet Petty Sessions. Cases which arise in the districts of Bushey, Aldenham, and a part of Elstree (County of Herts) are taken to Watford Petty Sessions, without the limits of the metropolitan district, and beyond the limits of the metropolitan police district.
CROYDON DIVISION, Wallington Hundred, Surrey (P, V, and W divs.), Town Hall, Croydon, Saturdays, at 11 am.
DARTFORD DIVISION, Kent (R div.), Court House, Dartford, alternate Saturdays, at 1 p.m. Pier Hotel, Erith, last Wednesday in month, at 3 p.m. Charges taken in the parishes of East Wickham, Bexley, Crayford, and Erith are heard at Woolwich Police-court. Summonses are decided at Dartford Petty Sessions on alternate Saturdays at 1 p.m. Offences under Metropolitan Police Act, Mr. Beedleís office, Erith, at 3 p.m., first Wednesday.
EDGWARE DIVISION (Gore Hundred), Middlesex (S and X divs.), Court-house, Edgware, alternate Wednesdays, at 11 a.m. The greater portion of  the criminal business from Willesden in the Kensington Division, all the other parishes of which are in a police-court district, is taken to the Edgware Petty Sessions, but all the parish business, &c., which must be done in the division, is transacted at the Vestry Hall, Kensington, at appointed times throughout the year. The whole of Harrow is in this division for civil business.
EDMONTON HUNDRED, Middlesex (N and Y divs.), County Court, Edmonton, Mondays, at 11 am. The whole of Enfield is in this division of civil business.
ENFIELD, Middlesex (Y div.), clerks office, Enfield Town, Fridays, at 11 am.
EPSOM DIVISION (Copthorne Hundred), Surrey (V and W divs.), Petty Sessions Court, Epsom, every Monday, at 10.30 a.m.
HAMPSTEAD, Middlesex (S div.), Police-station, Hampstead, every Wednesday.
HANOVER.SQUARE DIVISION, Middlesex (B and C divs.), Board Room, Mount-st. For  civil business only.
HIGHGATE OR FINSBURY DIVISION Middlesex (S and Y divs.), police-station,  Highgate, Mondays at 9.30 am. For police cases only. Police cases which arise in parts of Finchley and Friern Barnet are occasionally taken before the justices sitting at the Barnet Petty Sessions.
HIGHGATE OR FINSBURY DIVISION Middlesex (G, N, S andY divs) Sessions House, Clerkenwell, occasionally on Saturdays, at 10.30 am. For civil business only.
HOLBORN DIVISION, Middlesex (E, G, and S divs.), Freemasonsí Tavern, Great Queen-st. For civil business only.
HUNDREDS OF KINGSTON AND ELMIBRIDGE, Surrey (V div.), the Petty Sessions for the Hundred are held in the Grand Jury Room in Kingston-upon-Thames, every Thursday, at 11 am.
KENSINGTON DIVISION, Middlesex (B, T, and X divs.), Vestry Hall, Kensington. For civil business only.
LIBERTY OF THE TOWER OF LONDON (H div.), Court House, Well-close-square. For civil business only.
MARYLEBONE DIVISION, Middlesex (D, E, and S div.), Court House, Marylebone-lane. For civil business only.
PADDINGTON DIVISION, Middlesex (D and X divs.), Vestry Hall, Paddington- green. For civil business only.
RICHMOND DIVISION, Surrey (V div.), Petty Sessions Court, Richmond, Wednesdays, at 11
ST. JAMESíS DIVISION, Middlesex (C div.), St. Jamesís Vestry Hall, Piccadilly. For civil business Only.
ST. MARGARETíS DIVISION, Middlesex (A and B divs.), Sessions House, Westminster. For civil. business only.
ST. PANCRAS DIVISION  Middlesex (E, G, S, and Y), St. Pancras Vestry Room, Pancras-rd. For civil business only. Part of this parish is in the Finsbury Division for police cases. Those parts of the parishes of Hampstead and St. Pancras which are not included in a police-court district come within this district occasionally.
SOUTH MIMS DIVISION, Middlesex ( S div.), the ordinary magisterial business of this division is transacted at the County Court, Chipping Barnet, every Monday, at 11 a.m. Special Sessions for parochial business are held at appointed times throughout the year at Hartís Horn Inn, High-st., Barnet.
SPELTHORNE DIVISION or HUNDRED  Middlesex (T div.), White Lion, Staines; Red Lion
Inn, Hampton; and Running Horse, Sunbury-common, alternate Mondays, at 12 a.m.
STRAND DIVISION, Middlesex (E div.), Vestry Rooms, St. Martinís-in-the-fields. For civil business only.
TOWER DIVISION, Middlesex (G, H, K, and N divs.), County Court, Great Prescot-st, Whitechapel, E. For civil business only.
UXBRIDGE DIVISION (Elthorne Hundred), Middlesex (T and X divs.), Public Rooms, Uxbridge, Mondays, at 11 a.m.
WALTHAM ABBEY DIVISION (Epping Hundred), Essex (N andY divs.), County Court, Waltham Abbey, Tuesdays, at 10.30  a.m.
WANDSWORTH DIVISION, Surrey (V div.), County Court House, Wandsworth, specially, at appointed times throughout the year. For civil  business only.

Charles Dickens (Jr.), Dickens's Dictionary of London, 1879