SOUTH KENSINGTON MUSEUM: THE SCULPTURE HALL.
Our view shows the south corridor of South Kensington Museum, devoted to the display of casts of antique sculpture-such as, for example, the celebrated "Wrestlers" to the left, familiar to visitors to the Uffizi at Florence - and it max be reached either by the entrance in Cromwell Road or from Exhibition Road. The corridor stretches between the staircases leading respectively to the Tapestry and Textile Fabric Room and to the Science and Education Library. The Museum, which was opened in 1857 is one of the subdivisions of the Science and Art Department, and is under the control of the Education Department. Nearly £11,000 is voted annually by Parliament for the purposes of this museum and of its Bethnal Green branch.